Zovko calls for the implementation of visa reciprocity between Croatia and US

20 October 2020, Brussels

Tomorrow, the European Parliament will vote on the Resolution on obligations of the Commission in the field of visa reciprocity. Željana Zovko, as EPP shadow rapporteur for the relations with the United States, said that even though United States citizens can freely travel to all EU countries that is not the case for Croatian citizens who still need visas to enter the United States. 

Zovko stated that the diplomatic dialogue should continue in mind of further strengthening the transatlantic partnership, which has always been of great importance to both the EU and Croatia. She also welcomes the recent announcement of US ambassador Robert Kohorst that Croatia has officially met the condition of a visa refusal rate of less than three per cent. “I hope that the United States will recognize all the efforts that Croatia has put into meeting the key requirements and will soon end the current restrictions” – Zovko concluded.

The visa reciprocity is one of the main criteria guiding the EU’s visa policy upholding the principle that EU citizens should be subject to the same conditions when travelling to a third country as the nationals of that third country when they are travelling to the EU. In addition to Croatia, also citizens from Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania still do not have visa-free access to the United States.

Web stranice Željane Zovko koriste kolačiće (cookies) kako bi se poboljšala funkcionalnost stranica. Više o kolačićima pročitajte u uvjetima korištenja